Stripping: A Much Misunderstood Thing

It may sound rather taboo to say this but I have recently taken up stripping.

Get it? Stripping ... linoleum.

Get it? Stripping … linoleum.

Actually, I find it rather apPEALing, if you know what I mean.

Hopefully, the reader will excuse my dreadful punning and find some consolation in the fact that I use up most of my puns on my husband as a test audience.

Ever since my parents bought their current house in 2008, we been busy gradually fixing this and that. Stripping the linoleum off my bedroom floor is one of the ways I’m trying to help my parents out with the repairs. Unfortunately, in the last four years, college has intervened and made it more difficult for me to complete the task–but finally, at long last, I am beginning to see the light at the end of the tunnel! Most of that ugly stuff is gone and the original wood floors are looking pretty good. The only other problem is getting the dried glue residue off. So far the best method is sanding but that can be very exhausting. Totally worth it though!

In the last three years we’ve managed to, as Quentin Crisp might have said, riddle our home with standards of living. When our water heating broke, sending hot water flooding into my closet and damaging some of the hardwood flooring, we had to go four or six months without hot water. The doom that came to our water heater had some something awful to the hot water pipes as well! Fortunately, we live in southern California and this catastrophe occurred during the spring and summer. We had the plumbing totally renovated the following fall and just in time before cold showers would have been just unbearable

We  have also had a few broken window replaced, the wiring complete redone, and central heating and cooling installed. Although the house once had radiators, they were gone by the time we arrived, and no other systems were every incorporated. I have spent several unbearable summers in this house because of it. Ironically, I’m currently in the process of gradually moving in with my in-laws (I much prefer the word invasion), so I won’t have as many opportunities to enjoy the cool air. My in-laws have central heating and cooling but it use is a rather controversial subject between my mother- and father-in-law. Well, unless my young niece is present and then it goes on.

C’est la vie, I suppose!

Leave a Reply

